Beck to release music version of Song Reader, featuring Jack White, Jeff Tweedy, and Jarvis Cocker


    Back in 2012, Beck returned from a lengthy hiatus with Song Reader, an album composed entirely of sheet music that could only be heard through performance. Since then, Beck has staged three different concerts, where he and a cavalcade of special guests performed the material live. Now, he’s finally ready to offer a companion album of recorded music, and he’s once more enlisted the help of some big-name talent.

    As Future Heart points out, Song Reader will feature tracks from Jack White, Jeff Tweedy, Pulp’s Jarvis Cocker, Laura Marling, and Eleanor Friedberger, as well as Beck himself. And in a fun twist, actor/musician Jack Black also contributed to the project, marking what’s surely the first time Jack White and Jack Black appear on the same record.

    Below, check out the full tracklist (via Direct Current) along with a fan-shot video of Beck performing his contribution, “Heaven’s Ladder”, live in concert.


    Song Reader arrives officially on July 29th via Capitol Records. Pre-orders are ongoing via Amazon.

    Song Reader Tracklist:
    01. Moses Sumney – Title of this Song
    02. Fun – Please Leave A Light On When You Go
    03. Tweedy – The Wolf is on the Hill
    04. Norah Jones – Just Noise
    05. Lord Huron – Last Night You Were A Dream
    06. Bob Forrest – Saint Dude
    07. Jack White – I’m Down
    08. Beck – Heaven’s Ladder
    09. Juanes – Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard
    10. Laura Marling – Sorry
    11. Jarvis Cocker – Eyes That Say “I Love You”
    12. David Johansen – Rough On Rats
    13. Jason Isbell – Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings
    14. The Last Polka – Marc Ribot
    15. Eleanor Friedberger – Old Shanghai
    16. Sparks – Why Did You Make Me Care?
    17. Swamp Dogg – America, Here’s My Boy
    18. Jack Black – We All Wear Cloaks
    19. Loudon Wainwright III – Do We? We Do
    20. Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic – Mutilation Rag

Around The Web