Listen: Lia Ices’ catchy new song “Higher”


    On September 16th, Lia Kessel, aka Lia Ices, returns with her new album Ices, via Jagjaguwar. The 10-track effort follows 2011’s Grown Unknown and was co-produced by her brother Eliot and Clams Casino. According to the singer-songwriter, the album was inspired by a transitional period in her life wherein she planted roots in California, fell in love, and experimented with more electronic-based music.

    “Ices is a celebration of flight, levity, and the conviction that you can leave earth…” Kessel explained in a press release. “You take wing in an airplane, you go to real places when you dream, you have out-of-body experiences, you get high, you lose yourself in someone else.”

    Already we’ve heard the lovely album cut “Thousand Eyes”; now, she has unveiled “Higher”. An ethereal earworm, the pop number’s worth a spot on your “Songs of Summer” playlist and easily sounds 100% perfect for a fun Apple or Target commercial. Listen in below.


    Ices Tracklist:
    01. Tell Me
    02. Thousand Eyes
    03. Higher
    04. Love Ices Over
    05. Magick
    06. Electric Arc
    07. Sweet as Ice
    08. Creature
    09. How We Are
    10. Waves


Personalized Stories

Around The Web