Listen: Shabazz Palaces’ new song “Forerunner Foray”


    Later this month, Shabazz Palaces will release their new album, Lese Majesty. Based on early singles, including “They Come In Gold” and “#CAKE”, the Seattle art-rappers have updated the glitchy and hypnotic formula of 2011’s masterpiece Black Up. Now, they offer another eccentric and entrancing preview in “Forerunner Foray”.

    With its fluttering synths, futuristic vocal chants, and cloudy, nigh-impenetrable atmospherics, “Forerunner Foray” may not be as dark as “#CAKE” but it’s still as vaguely ominous. Here, Palaceer Lazaro sounds both monstrous and robotic, his modulated vocals adding to the sense of foreboding that permeates throughout. Listen in below.

    Lese Majesty arrives July 29th via Sub Pop.

    Lese Majesty Tracklist:
    01. Dawn In Luxor
    02. Forerunner Foray
    03. They Come In Gold
    04. Solemn Swears
    05. Harem Aria
    06. Noetic Noiromantics
    07. The Ballad Of Lt. Major Winnings
    08. Soundview
    09. Ishmael
    10. …down 155th in the MCM Snorkel
    11. Divine of Form
    12. #CAKE
    13. Colluding Oligarchs
    14. Suspicion of a Shape
    15. MindGlitch Keytar TM Theme
    16. Motion Sickness
    17. New Black Wave
    18. Sonic MythMap for the Trip Back


Around The Web