Stream: Shabazz Palaces’ new album Lese Majesty


    Seattle’s Shabazz Palaces will release their sophomore album, Lese Majesty, on July 29th via Sub Pop. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full over at NPR.

    In an interview with Hypetrak last year, emcee Ishmael Butler, aka Palaceer Lazaro, said the 18-track effort would see the group changing up the avant-garde-leaning hip-hop of 2011’s excellent Black Up.

    “I don’t know. I doubt that it will sound much like it,” he said. “It will probably sound . . . I don’t know. We’ve left that. That [last album] is kind of far behind us now. There will be some similarities I guess, because we are who are. Other than that, it’s not gonna sound much like it at all.”


    In a separate interview with London In Stereo, Butler offered insight into the album’s title, which is French for a crime against sovereignty. “It’s evocative – and provocative – and its meanings can be applied to more than just a government or a ruler,” he said. “In these times, there are plenty of establishments that could do with a bit of treason.”

    The album is preceded by three singles, “They Come In Gold”“#CAKE”,  and “Forerunner Foray”.

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

    Lese Majesty Tracklist:
    01. Dawn In Luxor
    02. Forerunner Foray
    03. They Come In Gold
    04. Solemn Swears
    05. Harem Aria
    06. Noetic Noiromantics
    07. The Ballad Of Lt. Major Winnings
    08. Soundview
    09. Ishmael
    10. …down 155th in the MCM Snorkel
    11. Divine of Form
    12. #CAKE
    13. Colluding Oligarchs
    14. Suspicion of a Shape
    15. MindGlitch Keytar TM Theme
    16. Motion Sickness
    17. New Black Wave
    18. Sonic MythMap for the Trip Back


Around The Web