Stream: Spider Bags’ new album Frozen Letter


    Chapel Hill punk rockers Spider Bags will release their fourth studio album, Frozen Letter, on August 5th via their new label Merge Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at

    The follow-up to 2012’s Shake My Head features eight tracks, and was recorded in just three days by engineer/producer Wesley Wolfe. In addition to signing the band’s paychecks, Merge co-founder and Superchunk frontman Mac McCaughan guests on lead guitar.

    According to a press release, the album is the first by Spider Bags’ latest lineup, which features frontman Dan McGee, bassist Steve Oliva, and drummer Rock Forbes. The release explains that by “slimming down to a three-piece, the band members found they connected musically, and most importantly, they all liked each other. Building upon the foundation laid down by its predecessor, Frozen Letter rocks with the clairvoyance of three musicians who have spent a lot of time recording and touring together over the last few years.”


    The release concludes, “Taken as a whole, Frozen Letter manages to glide along the razor’s edge, and true to an actual acid trip, there are moments of utter terror alongside unfettered joy.”

    The album is preceded by two singles, “Back With You Again in the World” and “Japanese Vacation”.

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

    Frozen Letter Tracklist:
    01. Back With You Again in the World
    02. Japanese Vacation
    03. Chem Trails
    04. Summer of ’79
    05. Coffin Car
    06. Walking Bubble
    07. We Got Problems
    08. Eyes of Death


Personalized Stories

Around The Web