Bob Dylan to release entirety of Basement Tapes; includes 138 tracks (30 of which were never known to exist)


    For the first time, the entirety of Bob Dylan’s Basement Tapes sessions will be available to the general public. Available November 4th, the six-disc collection spans an astonishing 138 tracks, 30 of which were never known to exist until today’s announcement. Several other tracks have only existed as subpar bootleg recordings.

    Coming in the aftermath of Dylan’s infamous motorcycle crash in 1966, the sessions saw Dylan and The Band (then known as the Crackers) retreat to Woodstock, New York. They proceeded to record over 100 tracks together, some of which were given to other artists, including Manfred Mann (“Quinn the Eskimo”), The Byrds (“You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere”), and Peter, Paul and Mary (“Too Much of Nothing”). Dylan’s versions of these songs first surfaced on the 1969 bootleg Great White Wonder, and were later given an official release in 1975.

    (Read: Another Side of Bob Dylan Turns 50)

    According to Rolling Stone, unreleased material on the anthology includes: an “epic, apocalyptic rocker” called “Wild Wolf”; an early version of “I Shall Be Released” with different lyrics; a cover of Hank Williams’ 1949 song “My Bucket’s Got a Hole In It”; and “country-fied” versions of “Blowin’ in the Wind”, “It Ain’t Me Babe”, and “One Too Many Mornings”, featuring keyboardist Richard Manuel handling lead vocals on the first verse. Below, stream an alternate take of “Odds and Ends”.


    The deluxe edition of the album also includes a 120-page companion book featuring extensive liner notes and previously unseen photographs. Also available will be a more concise version dubbed The Basement Tapes Raw, featuring 38 tracks on two discs or three LPs. Pre-orders are now ongoing and the full tracklist is below.

    The Basement Tapes Complete serves as the 11th installment in Dylan’s The Bootleg Series, an archival project dating back to the early 1990s. It also coincides with the release of Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes, which sees a supergroup of folk rockers — My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Mumford and Sons’ Marcus Mumford, Elvis Costello, Dawes’ Taylor Goldsmith, Carolina Chocolate Drops’ Rhiannon Giddens, and T-Bone Burnett — create music for two-dozen recently discovered Dylan lyrics from The Bootleg Tapes era.


    The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 Tracklist:

    CD 1
    Disc: 1
    01. Edge of the Ocean
    02. My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It
    03. Roll on Train
    04. Mr. Blue
    05. Belshazzar
    06. I Forgot to Remember to Forget
    07. You Win Again
    08. Still in Town
    09. Waltzing with Sin
    10. Big River (Take 1)
    11. Big River (Take 2)
    12. Folsom Prison Blues
    13. Bells of Rhymney
    14. Spanish is the Loving Tongue
    15. Under Control
    16. Ol’ Roison the Beau
    17. I’m Guilty of Loving You
    18. Cool Water
    19. The Auld Triangle
    20. Po’ Lazarus
    21. I’m a Fool for You (Take 1)
    22. I’m a Fool for You (Take 2)

    Disc: 2
    01. Johnny Todd
    02. Tupelo
    03. Kickin’ My Dog Around
    04. See You Later Allen Ginsberg (Take 1)
    05. See You Later Allen Ginsberg (Take 2)
    06. Tiny Montgomery
    07. Big Dog
    08. I’m Your Teenage Prayer
    09. Four Strong Winds
    10. The French Girl (Take 1)
    11. The French Girl (Take 2)
    12. Joshua Gone Barbados
    13. I’m in the Mood
    14. Baby Ain’t That Fine
    15. Rock, Salt and Nails
    16. A Fool Such As I
    17. Song for Canada
    18. People Get Ready
    19. I Don’t Hurt Anymore
    20. Be Careful of Stones That You Throw
    21. One Man’s Loss
    22. Lock Your Door
    23. Baby, Won’t You be My Baby
    24. Try Me Little Girl
    25. I Can’t Make it Alone
    26. Don’t You Try Me Now

    Disc: 3
    01. Young but Daily Growing
    02. Bonnie Ship the Diamond
    03. The Hills of Mexico
    04. Down on Me
    05. One for the Road
    06. I’m Alright
    07. Million Dollar Bash (Take 1)
    08. Million Dollar Bash (Take 2)
    09. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Take 1)
    10. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Take 2)
    11. I’m Not There
    12. Please Mrs. Henry
    13. Crash on the Levee (Take 1)
    14. Crash on the Levee (Take 2)
    15. Lo and Behold! (Take 1)
    16. Lo and Behold! (Take 2)
    17. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Take 1)
    18. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Take 2)
    19. I Shall be Released (Take 1)
    20. I Shall be Released (Take 2)
    21. This Wheel’s on Fire
    22. Too Much of Nothing (Take 1)
    23. Too Much of Nothing (Take 2)


    Disc: 4
    01. Tears of Rage (Take 1)
    02. Tears of Rage (Take 2)
    03. Tears of Rage (Take 3)
    04. Quinn the Eskimo (Take 1)
    05. Quinn the Eskimo (Take 2)
    06. Open the Door Homer (Take 1)
    07. Open the Door Homer (Take 2)
    08. Open the Door Homer (Take 3)
    09. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 1)
    10. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 2)
    11. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 3)
    12. All American Boy
    13. Sign on the Cross
    14. Odds and Ends (Take 1)
    15. Odds and Ends (Take 2)
    16. Get Your Rocks Off
    17. Clothes Line Saga
    18. Apple Suckling Tree (Take 1)
    19. Apple Suckling Tree (Take 2)
    20. Don’t Ya Tell Henry
    21. Bourbon Street

    Disc: 5
    01. Blowin’ in the Wind
    02. One Too Many Mornings
    03. A Satisfied Mind
    04. It Ain’t Me, Babe
    05. Ain’t No More Cane (Take 1)
    06. Ain’t No More Cane (Take 2)
    07. My Woman She’s A-Leavin’
    08. Santa-Fe
    09. Mary Lou, I Love You Too
    10. Dress it up, Better Have it All
    11. Minstrel Boy
    12. Silent Weekend
    13. What’s it Gonna be When it Comes Up
    14. 900 Miles from My Home
    15. Wildwood Flower
    16. One Kind Favor
    17. She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain
    18. It’s the Flight of the Bumblebee
    19. Wild Wolf
    20. Goin’ to Acapulco
    21. Gonna Get You Now
    22. If I Were A Carpenter
    23. Confidential
    24. All You Have to do is Dream (Take 1)
    25. All You Have to do is Dream (Take 2)

    Disc: 6
    01. 2 Dollars and 99 Cents
    02. Jelly Bean
    03. Any Time
    04. Down by the Station
    05. Hallelujah, I’ve Just Been Moved
    06. That’s the Breaks
    07. Pretty Mary
    08. Will the Circle be Unbroken
    09. King of France
    10. She’s on My Mind Again
    11. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad
    12. On a Rainy Afternoon
    13. I Can’t Come in with a Broken Heart
    14. Next Time on the Highway
    15. Northern Claim
    16. Love is Only Mine
    17. Silhouettes
    18. Bring it on Home
    19. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies
    20. The Spanish Song (Take 1)
    21. The Spanish Song (Take 2)


    The Basement Tapes Raw: Bootleg Series Vol. 11 Tracklist:

    Disc: 1
    01. Open the Door, Homer
    02. Odds and Ends
    03. Million Dollar Bash
    04. One Too Many Mornings
    05. I Don’t Hurt Anymore
    06. Ain’t No More Cane
    07. Crash on the Levee
    08. Tears of Rage
    09. Dress it up, Better Have it All
    10. I’m Not There
    11. Johnny Todd
    12. Too Much of Nothing
    13. Quinn the Eskimo
    14. Get Your Rocks Off
    15. Santa-Fe
    16. Silent Weekend
    17. Clothes Line Saga
    18. Please, Mrs. Henry
    19. I Shall be Released

    Disc: 2
    01. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
    02. Lo and Behold!
    03. Minstrel Boy
    04. Tiny Montgomery
    05. All You Have to do is Dream
    06. Goin’ to Acapulco
    07. 900 Miles from My Home
    08. One for the Road
    09. I’m Alright
    10. Blowin’ in the Wind
    11. Apple Suckling Tree
    12. Nothing Was Delivered
    13. Folsom Prison Blues
    14. This Wheel’s on Fire
    15. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread
    16. Don’t Ya Tell Henry
    17. Baby, Won’t You be My Baby
    18. Sign on the Cross
    19. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere

    dylan basement tapes