Stream: FKA Twigs’ debut album LP1

FKA twigs - LP1

    British experimental R&B artist Tahliah Barnett, aka FKA Twigs, will release her debut album, the aptly-titled LP1, on August 12th via Young Turks. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full via iTunes Radio.

    The 10-track effort serves as the follow-up to last year’s EP1 and EP2. Recorded over the last two-plus years, the record features production from Dev Hynes, Paul Epworth, and frequent collaborator Arca.

    In an interview with Pitchfork, Barnett said she named the album LP1 because “I don’t know what I’m doing, so I’m not going to give it some sort of grand name.” However she quickly added, “On the opening song, ‘Preface’, I sing a quote by a poet called Wyatt: “I love another, and thus I hate myself.’ It’s inscribed into the vinyl. So it’s called LP1, but, for me, that quote is the subtitle — you could apply that line to anything in my life for the past two years.”

    She further explains the title and the album’s overall conceptual arc:

    I love my music, so I want to produce, write, and serve my music. I’ve had to learn about EQ frequencies, and programming, and space, and clutter, and how to be a better piano or bass player, everything. You can have big aspirations, but then you realize your skill level or your insecurities are holding you back. So you start to hate yourself, because it’s so frustrating!


    Or it could also be referring to a lover: When you love someone you give them everything, but then they turn out to be a dick, and everything gets chucked back in your face. Then you’re insecure, paranoid, and jealous, and you’re obsessed over that person. It’s one massive head game because you’re like, “Who am I now?” You feel like this shriveled-up Gollum-like creature. And then you hate yourself because you’re trying so hard and it’s just not working. That’s what my album’s about.

    The album is preceded by a few singles, “Two Weeks”, “Video Girl”, and “Pendulum”.

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Two Weeks”:

    LP1 Tracklist:
    01. Preface
    02. Lights On
    03. Two Weeks
    04. Hours
    05. Pendulum
    06. Video Girl
    07. Numbers
    08. Closer
    09. Give Up
    10. Kicks


Personalized Stories

Around The Web