Stream: The Rentals’ Lost in Alphaville, their first new album in 15 years


    On August 26th, The Rentals, the power pop outfit of former Weezer bassist Matt Sharp, will release its first album in 15 years, Lost in Alphaville. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at Pitchfork.

    The Rentals’ last release came with 1999’s Seven More Minutes. For its long overdue follow-up, Sharp recruited an all-star cast of collaborators, including The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney on drums, guitarist Ryen Slegr (Ozma), pianist Lauren Chipman (The Section Quartet), and vocalists Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig (Lucius).

    In a press release, Sharp discussed the album’s recording process:

    If you can’t whip yourself up into a state of full-blown rapture while you’re creating, I don’t really see the point of making music … When I was working with Jess and Holly, for instance, I was fairly grounded in reality, but once I took their tracks back to my house I would loosen the reins to my sanity, crank the monitors so loud that all the instruments and voices would blissfully saturate together to a point where all of my delusional thoughts would just roller-skate off to Xanadu.


    Lost in Alphaville is preceded by the singles “Thought of Sound” and “1000 Seasons”.

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, listen to “Thought of Sound”.


    Lost in Alphaville Tracklist:
    01. It’s Time To Come Home
    02. Traces Of Our Tears
    03. Stardust
    04. 1000 Seasons
    05. Damaris
    06. Irrational Things
    07. Thought of Sound
    08. Song Of Remembering
    09. Seven Years
    10. The Future

Personalized Stories

Around The Web