XL Recordings celebrates 25th anniversary with star-studded box set


    Over its illustrious 25-year history, XL Recordings has released music from the likes of Radiohead, The White Stripes, Adele, Vampire Weekend, The xx, M.I.A., Tyler the Creator, and more. Now, the label is compiling songs by these artists and others for an expansive box set entitled, Pay Close Attention.

    Featuring 33 audio tracks and 10 music videos, the compilation will be available as a four-LP vinyl box set and 2-CD/DVD deluxe package. A release date is set for August 25th (pre-orders are now ongoing). The full tracklist is posted below.

    XL has also launched a new website chronicling the history of the record label. It will also offer new or unseen interviews and performances by XL artists, such as the two videos posted below. The first is a 15-minute documentary on Vampire Weekend dating back to to 2010’s Contra. The second features footage of Odd Future’s first-ever European tour.


    Pay Close Attention Tracklist:

    Disc One
    01. SL2 – DJs Take Control
    02. The Prodigy – Out Of Space
    03. Awesome 3 – Don’t Go (Kicks Like A Mule Mix)
    04. Liquid – Sweet Harmony
    05. Jonny L – Piper
    06. Roy Davis Jr. featuring Peven Everett – Gabriel (Live Garage Version)
    07. Dem 2 – Destiny
    08. Nu-Birth – Anytime
    09. Basement Jaxx – Jump N’Shout
    10. Dizzee Rascal – I Luv U
    11. Wiley – Igloo
    12. Various Production – Hater
    13. Giggs – Talkin The Hardest
    14. SBTRKT – Wildfire (featuring Little Dragon)
    15. Jamie xx – All Under One Roof Raving

    Disc Two:
    01. The Prodigy – Firestarter
    02. Peaches – Fuck The Pain Away
    03. The White Stripes – Seven Nation Army
    04. Devendra Banhart – I Feel Just Like A Child
    05. Ratatat – Seventeen Years
    06. M.I.A. – Paper Planes
    07. Thom Yorke – The Eraser
    08. Gil Scott-Heron – New York Is Killing Me
    09. Radiohead – Weird Fishes / Arpeggi
    10. Tyler, The Creator – Yonkers
    11. The Horrors – Sea Within A Sea
    12. Jai Paul – BTSTU (demo)
    13. Bobby Womack – Please Forgive My Heart
    14. The xx – Angels
    15. Sampha – Too Much
    16. Vampire Weekend – Step
    17. King Krule – Easy Easy
    18. Adele – Rolling In The Deep

    Bonus DVD included in box set:

    Prodigy – Firestarter (Director Walter Stern)
    Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At (Director Traktor)
    The White Stripes – Fell In Love With A Girl (Director Michel Gondry)
    Dizzee Rascal – Fix Up, Look Sharp (Director Ruben Fleischer)
    M.I.A – BirdFlu (Director M.I.A)
    Vampire Weekend – A-Punk (Director Hammer and Tongs)
    Radiohead – Lotus Flower (Director Garth Jennings)
    Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here (Director Jane Pollard)
    Tyler, The Creator – Yonkers (Director Tyler, The Creator)
    ADELE – Someone Like You (Live From The Brits 2011)


Around The Web