Led Zeppelin premiere new video for “Rock and Roll” — watch


    Earlier this month, Led Zeppelin unearthed an alternative version of “Rock and Roll”, taken from the legendary band’s forthcoming deluxe reissue of 1971’s Led Zeppelin IV. Now, they’ve let loose its corresponding clip, a neat lyric video of sorts that’s chock-full of new and old concert footage.

    In an interview with Rolling Stone, guitarist Jimmy Page talked about the classic rocker, saying: “‘Rock and Roll’ has just got that cheeky energy about it. It’s a party. ‘It’s been a long time since I rock and rolled.’ It says it all, really. It’s great lyrics and it’s a great performance.”

    Bassist John Paul Jones chimed in, adding, “As a song, it was actually kind of punky; pre-punk. It was really fast too, onstage anyway. It just got really quick, a lot of energy. It’s a lot of fun to play. The crowd loved it. We loved it.” Watch the new “Rock and Roll” video below.

    (Read: The Top 6 Led Zeppelin Bootlegs)

    Reissues for Led Zeppelin IV and 1973’s Houses Of The Holy are due out tomorrow. Remastered by Page, both are the latest installments in Led Zeppelin’s year-long archival campaign and include a second disc of bonus, unreleased material including alternative takes, various mixes, and outtakes and demos.

    Led Zeppelin IV Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:

    Disc One:
    01. Black Dog
    02. Rock And Roll
    03. The Battle of Evermore
    04. Stairway To Heaven
    05. Misty Mountain Hop
    06. Four Sticks
    07. Going To California
    08. When The Levee Breaks

    Disc Two:
    01. Black Dog – Basic Track With Guitar Overdubs
    02. Rock And Roll – Alternate Mix
    03. The Battle Of Evermore – Mandolin/Guitar Mix From Headley Grange
    04. Stairway To Heaven – Sunset Sound Mix
    05. Misty Mountain Hop – Alternate Mix
    06. Four Sticks – Alternate Mix
    07. Going To California – Mandolin/Guitar Mix
    08. When The Levee Breaks – Alternate UK Mix

    Houses of the Holy Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:

    Disc One:
    01. The Song Remains The Same
    02. The Rain Song
    03. Over The Hills And Far Away
    04. The Crunge
    05. Dancing Days
    06. D’yer Mak’er
    07. No Quarter
    08. The Ocean

    Disc Two:
    01. The Song Remains The Same – Guitar Overdub Reference Mix
    02. The Rain Song – Mix Minus Piano
    03. Over The Hills And Far Away – Guitar Mix Backing Track
    04. The Crunge – Rough Mix – Keys Up
    05. Dancing Days – Rough Mix With Vocal
    06. No Quarter – Rough Mix With JPJ Keyboard Overdubs – No Vocal
    07. The Ocean – Working Mix