Listen to “Liberty Street”, unreleased Bob Dylan song performed by Dawes’ Taylor Goldsmith


    As previously reported, an all-star contingency of folk rockers recently convened to create music for two dozen newly discovered lyrics written by Bob Dylan. Entitled Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes, the 15-track collection is the culmination of two-plus weeks of studio time by My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Mumford and SonsMarcus Mumford, Elvis Costello, DawesTaylor Goldsmith, Carolina Chocolate Drops’ Rhiannon Giddens, and super producer T-Bone Burnett. The lyrics in question date back to 1967, taken from the same period that spurred the recording of Dylan’s iconic Basement Tapes.

    In anticipation of the album’s release, the collective has already shared several album tracks: the Jim James-fronted “Nothing To It”, the Elvis Costello-led “Married To My Hack”, the Marcus Mumford-helmed “When I get My Hands On You”, and “Spanish Mary”. Today, Goldsmith takes over as frontman on “Liberty Street”.

    Despite the sheer star power of the project, this song is perhaps the most quaint and minimalist of the entire project, with Goldsmith crooning over some gentle piano and the faint whispers of a back-up chorus. Still, that light touch perfectly fits the song’s overall scope, with undertones of religious exploration and a message of personal growth/freedom. Watch its accompanying lyric video below, a slightly abstract animated piece.


    Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes will arrive November 11th via Electromagnetic Recordings / Harvest Records. The album is being accompanied by a Showtime documentary set to debut on November 21st.  According to a press release, director Sam Jones’ Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued presents an “exclusive and intimate look at the making of Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes set against the important and historical cultural backdrop of Bob Dylan’s original Basement Tapes.”

    Meanwhile, Dylan himself will release the entire collection of The Basement Tapes on November 4th. The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 spans a whopping 138 songs, including 30 never known to have existed. Stream it in full here.


    Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes Tracklist:
    01. Down On The Bottom
    02. Married To My Hack
    03. Kansas City
    04. Spanish Mary
    05. Liberty Street
    06. Nothing To It
    07. Golden Tom – Silver Judas *
    08. When I Get My Hands On You
    09. Duncan and Jimmy
    10. Florida Key
    11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
    12. Lost On The River #12
    13. Stranger
    14. Card Shark
    15. Quick Like A Flash *
    16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16 *
    17. Diamond Ring *
    18. The Whistle Is Blowing *
    19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
    20. Lost On The River #20

    * = Deluxe edition only

Personalized Stories

Around The Web