Stream: Neil Young’s new album Storytone


    Neil Young will release his new album, Storytone, on November 4th via Reprise Records. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in its entirety at

    The 10-track effort serves as the aesthetic counterpart to Young’s other 2014 release: Whereas A Letter Home was recorded in lo-fi (using Jack White’s Voice-O-Graph booth), the forthcoming LP sees the legendary songwriter performing alongside a 92-piece orchestra and choir. The album serves as Young’s 35th to date and will also be available as a two-disc deluxe edition featuring solo recordings of all 10 tracks.

    In a recent interview with Billboard, Young described his thought process behind the orchestral album:


    I’d like to make a record with a full-blown orchestra, live—a mono recording with one mic. … I want to do something like that where we really record what happened, with one point of view and the musicians moved closer and farther away, the way it was done in the past. To me that’s a challenge and it’s a sound that’s unbelievable, and you can’t get it any other way. So I’m into doing that.

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Who’s Gonna Stand Up?”.


    Storytone Tracklist:
    01. Plastic Flowers
    02. Who’s Gonna Stand Up?
    03. I Want To Drive My Car
    04. Glimmer
    05. Say Hello To Chicago
    06. Tumbleweed
    07. Like You Used To Do
    08. I’m Glad I Found You
    09. When I Watch You Sleeping
    10. All Those Dreams

Personalized Stories

Around The Web