Charli XCX teams with Duran Duran’s Simon Le Bon for “Kingdom” — listen


    Today’s already yielded two big-name collaborations from the guest-heavy, Lorde-curated Hunger Games soundtrack. Specifically, the Ariana Grande-led, Major Lazer-produced “All My Love” and the star-studded HAIM/Lorde/Q-Tip/Pusha T team-up “Meltdown”. To cap things off, Charli XCX joins forces with Duran Duran frontman Simon Le Bon for “Kingdom”.

    Though known for her bright and energetic performances, “Kingdom” displays the more docile side of the UK pop princess. Her hushed, gentle croon is especially crisp over the slightly menacing groove of crunchy synths and heavy drums, creating a really impactful sense of emotional dichotomy. Le Bon’s involvement is saved for a brief, ending interlude, but his extra anthemic croon really brings home the song’s inherent drama and theatricality. Listen in below.

    The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1 soundtrack is due out on November 18th via Republic. For more, check out the massive Chemical Brothers/Miguel/Lorde collaboration “This Is Not A Game”, CHVRCHES’ “Dead Air”, and Lorde’s “Yellow Flicker Beat” (complete with Kanye West remix).


    The Hunger Games Mockingjay Pt. 1 Tracklist:
    01. Stromae – Meltdown (feat. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip, HAIM)
    02. CHVRCHES – Dead Air
    03. Tove Lo – Scream My Name
    04. Charli XCX – Kingdom (feat. Simon Bon)
    05. Major Lazer – All My Love (feat. Ariana Grande)
    06. Raury – Lost Souls
    07. Lorde – Yellow Flicker Beat
    08. Tinashé – The Leap
    09. Bat for Lashes – Plan the Escape
    10. Grace Jones – Original Beast
    11. Lorde – Flicker (Kanye West Rework)
    12. XOV – Animal
    13. The Chemical Brothers – This Is Not a Game (feat. Miguel)
    14. Lorde – Ladder Song (Bright Eyes cover)

Around The Web