Lorde covers Bright Eyes’ “Ladder Song” — listen

Lorde Bright Eyes

    Not only did she curate the entire effort, but Lorde makes several appearances on the Hunger Games soundtrack. Her “Yellow Flicker Beat” serves as the LP’s lead single (and was later remixed by Kanye West); she joins Chemical Brothers and Miguel for “This Is Not A Game”; and appears alongside HAIM, Q-Tip, and Pusha T on “Meltdown”. For her final contribution, which fittingly serves to close out the star-studded affair, the New Zealand sensation covers Bright Eyes’ 2011 single “Ladder Song”. (Fun fact: Lorde was 15 years old when this song came out.)

    The original, off The People’s Key, is a demonstration of Conor Oberst’s prowess, a minimalist piano ballad brimming with untold layers of emotion. For her rendition, Lorde doesn’t change much structurally, but she definitely gives the track her own spin. Equal parts heartbroken and optimistic, Lorde sounds like a downtrodden woman desperate for even the faintest ray of hope, her voice practically ripping at your heart-strings. It’ll lift you up and bring you right down at the same time, a feat I’m sure Mr. Oberst would undoubtedly approve of. Listen below.

    The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1 soundtrack is due out on November 18th via Republic. For more, check out CHVRCHES’ “Dead Air”, the Ariana Grande-led, Major Lazer-produced “All My Love”, and the Charli XCX-Simon Le Bon duet “Kingdom”.


    The Hunger Games Mockingjay Pt. 1 Tracklist:
    01. Stromae – Meltdown (feat. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip, HAIM)
    02. CHVRCHES – Dead Air
    03. Tove Lo – Scream My Name
    04. Charli XCX – Kingdom (feat. Simon Bon)
    05. Major Lazer – All My Love (feat. Ariana Grande)
    06. Raury – Lost Souls
    07. Lorde – Yellow Flicker Beat
    08. Tinashé – The Leap
    09. Bat for Lashes – Plan the Escape
    10. Grace Jones – Original Beast
    11. Lorde – Flicker (Kanye West Rework)
    12. XOV – Animal
    13. The Chemical Brothers – This Is Not a Game (feat. Miguel)
    14. Lorde – Ladder Song (Bright Eyes cover)

Around The Web