Marcus Mumford, Jim James, Elvis Costello, and Johnny Depp reimagine Bob Dylan lyrics on The New Basement Tapes — listen

Basement Tapes Jim James Marcus Mumford Elvis Costello

    An all-star contingency of folk rockers recently convened to create music for two dozen newly discovered lyrics written by Bob Dylan. Ahead of its November 11th release date via Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records, Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes is streaming in full over at iTunes Radio.

    The 15-track collection is the culmination of two-plus weeks of studio time by My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Mumford and SonsMarcus Mumford, Elvis Costello, DawesTaylor Goldsmith, Carolina Chocolate Drops’ Rhiannon Giddens, and super producer T-Bone Burnett. (Johnny Depp also stopped by for a brief session.) The lyrics date back to 1967, taken from the same period that spurred the recording of Dylan’s iconic Basement Tapes.

    “What transpired during those two weeks was amazing for all of us,” Burnett said in a press release. “There was a deep well of generosity and support in the studio at all times, which reflected the tremendous trust and generosity shown by Bob in sharing these lyrics with us in the first place.”


    (Read: Another Side of Bob Dylan Turns 50)

    The album is being accompanied by a Showtime documentary, set to debut on November 21st. According to a press release, director Sam Jones’ Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued presents an “exclusive and intimate look at the making of Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes set against the important and historical cultural backdrop of Bob Dylan’s original Basement Tapes.”

    Pre-orders are now ongoing.

    Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes Tracklist:
    01. Down On The Bottom
    02. Married To My Hack
    03. Kansas City
    04. Spanish Mary
    05. Liberty Street
    06. Nothing To It
    07. Golden Tom – Silver Judas
    08. When I Get My Hands On You
    09. Duncan and Jimmy
    10. Florida Key
    11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
    12. Lost On The River #12
    13. Stranger
    14. Card Shark
    15. Quick Like A Flash
    16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16
    17. Diamond Ring
    18. The Whistle Is Blowing
    19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
    20. Lost On The River #20

    In related news, Dylan himself recently released The Basement Tapes Complete. The six-disc collection spans an astonishing 138 tracks, 30 of which were never known to exist until earlier this fall.


Personalized Stories

Around The Web