Pink Floyd premiere new song “Allons-y (1)” — listen

Pink Floyd The Endless River

    On November 10th, Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour and Nick Mason will release their first album together in 20 years with The Endless River. In anticipation, they’ve released the Gimour-sung “Louder Than Words” as a teaser track. Now, the band has unveiled one of the album’s several instrumentals with “Allons-y (1)”. Spotify users can listen in below.

    Even at less than two minutes long, the track still exudes the kind of vast, otherworldly scope associated with Pink Floyd. Slightly jangly guitars lead the charge before a surge of celestial synths, wailing slide guitar, and under-stated percussion join in, a kind of pulsating blend of low-key blues, arena rock, and psych rock. If Cloud City were an actual destination, this would be the perfect soundtrack to make your approach (hopefully whilst piloting the Millennium Falcon).

    Billed as a tribute to multi-instrumentalist Richard Wright, The Endless River utilizes unreleased lyrics and music written by Wright prior to his death in 2008. The album was recorded by Gilmour and Mason in November 2013 alongside Roxy Music guitarist and producer Phil Manzanera. Other contributors include theoretical physicist Stephen Hawking (whose vocals are featured on the track “Talkin’ Hawkin'”) and UK-based electronic string quartet Escala. Pre-orders are ongoing.


    Listen to three more audio teasers below.

    The Endless River Tracklist:
    01. Things Left Unsaid
    02. It’s What We Do
    03. Ebb And Flow
    04. Sum
    05. Skins
    06. Unsung
    07. Anisina
    08. The Lost Art of Conversation
    09. On Noodle Street
    10. Night Light
    11. Allons-y (1)
    12. Autumn’68
    13. Allons-y (2)
    14. Talkin’ Hawkin’
    15. Calling
    16. Eyes To Pearls
    17. Surfacing
    18. Louder Than Words