Belle and Sebastian premiere new song “Nobody’s Empire” — listen


    On January 20th, Belle and Sebastian return with their ninth studio album, Girls in Peacetime Want To Dance, through Matador Records. Already we’ve heard the groovy, island-hopping lead single “The Party Line”; now comes the LP’s opening track, “Nobody’s Empire”.

    A tender indie pop number, it’s laced with charming guitars and equally poetic lyricism (“We are out of practise we’re out of sight/ On the edge of nobody’s empire/ If we live by books and we live by hope/ Does that make us targets for gunfire?”). According to a press release, frontman Stuart Murdoch calls it “absolutely the most personal song” he’s ever written.

    Below, check out “Nobody’s Empire” via its corresponding music video directed by Blair Young and Murdoch himself.


    Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance Tracklist:
    01. Nobody’s Empire
    02. Allie
    03. The Party Line
    04. The Power of Three
    05. The Cat with the Cream
    06. Enter Sylvia Plath
    07. The Everlasting Muse
    08. Perfect Couples
    09. Ever Had a Little Faith?
    10. Play for Today
    11. The Book of You
    12. Today (This Army’s for Peace)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web