Giveaway: Win Captain Beefheart’s Sun Zoom Spark: 1970 to 1972 box set + original art


    Rhino Records recently released a new Captain Beefheart box set entitled Sun Zoom Spark: 1970 to 1972. The four-CD set contains freshly-remastered versions of Lick My Decals Off, Baby (1970), The Spotlight Kid (1972), and Clear Spot (1972), plus a fourth disc containing never-before-heard rarities.

    That fourth disc culls together 14 alternative renditions, outtakes, and otherwise abandoned versions of tracks from the Clear Spot and The Spotlight Kid sessions. There’s a version of “I Can’t Do This Unless I Can Do This / Seam Crooked Sam” with actual singing instead of Bat Chain Puller’s spoke-word take. You’ve also got a different version of “Dirty Blue Gene” off Doc at the Radar Station, a “nearly unrecognizable” instrumental rehearsal of Ice Cream For Crow’s “The Witch Doctor Life”, and an early outtake of “Little Scratch”.

    You could go ahead and buy the set for yourself (it’s available on vinyl, too), but we could make it even sweeter for you. We’re giving away one copy of Sun Zoom Spark: 1970 to 1972 on CD along with a limited-edition original artwork print by Captain Beefheart himself, Don Van Vliet. And you thought the rare tracks were special.


    All you’ve got to do is enter using the widget below. You’ll gain additional entries for sharing with your friends on Twitter and Facebook. (Note: entry automatically enrolls you in the Consequence of Sound newsletter. Which is cool because you like music news anyway, right?) Check out the full tracklisting and the outtake of “Little Scratch” beneath the widget.

    a Rafflecopter giveaway

    Sun Zoom Spark: 1970 to 1972 Tracklist:

    Lick My Decals Off, Baby
    (October 1970)
    01. Lick My Decals Off, Baby
    02. Doctor Dark
    03. I Love You, You Big Dummy
    04. Peon
    05. Bellerin’ Plain
    06. Woe-Is-uh-Me-Bop
    07. Japan in a Dishpan
    08. I Wanna Find a Woman That’ll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go
    09. Petrified Forest
    10. One Red Rose That I Mean
    11. The Buggy Boogie Woogie
    12. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or the Big Dig)
    13. Space-Age Couple
    14. The Clouds Are Full of Wine (not Whiskey or Rye)
    15. Flash Gordon’s Ape

    The Spotlight Kid (January 1972)
    01. I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby
    02. White Jam
    03. Blabber ‘n Smoke
    04. When It Blows Its Stacks
    05. Alice in Blunderland
    06. The Spotlight Kid
    07. Click Clack
    08. Grow Fins
    09. There Ain’t No Santa Claus on the Evenin’ Stage
    10. Glider


    Clear Spot (November 1972)
    01. Low Yo Yo Stuff
    02. Nowadays a Woman’s Gotta Hit a Man
    03. Too Much Time
    04. Circumstances
    05. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
    06. Sun Zoom Spark
    07. Clear Spot
    08. Crazy Little Thing
    09. Long Neck Bottles
    10. Her Eyes Are a Blue Million Miles
    11. Big Eyed Beans from Venus
    12. Golden Birdies

    01. Alice in Blunderland – Alternate Version
    02. Harry Irene
    03. I Can’t Do This Unless I Can Do This/Seam Crooked Sam
    04. Pompadour Swamp/Suction Prints
    05. The Witch Doctor Life – Instrumental Take
    06. Two Rips in a Haystack/Kiss Me My Love
    07. Best Batch Yet – (Track) Version 1
    08. Your Love Brought Me To Life – Instrumental
    09. Dirty Blue Gene – Alternate Version 1
    10. Nowadays a Woman’s Gotta Hit a Man – Early Mix
    11. Kiss Where I Kain’t
    12. Circumstances – Alternate Version 2
    13. Little Scratch
    14. Dirty Blue Gene – Alternate Version 3