Madonna says leaking of new album is “artistic rape” and “form of terrorism”


    A 13-track album of new music from Madonna has reportedly leaked onto the web. Oh No They Didn’t theorizes that the release could be the entirety of Madonna’s as-yet-unannounced thirteenth studio album, rumored to be titled either Unapologetic Bitch or Iconic.

    Madonna’s camp has experienced a fury of unauthorized leaks in recent weeks, leading to the singer’s manager, Guy Oseary, to enlist the public’s help. “I would be grateful to any Madonna fans that can assist us in finding those responsible for the leak,” Oseary tweeted after a song called “Rebel Heart” hit the web late last month. “We appreciate your help.”

    (Read: Madonna’s 20 Best Songs)

    However, it appears her camp was unable to plug the leak, as today’s release is easily the biggest cache of content yet. As of publication, it’s unclear whether this latest leak contains demo versions of the tracks or the finished album. Update: In an Instagram post, Madonna said the leaked songs are “unfinished demos stolen long ago and not ready to be presented to the world.” She thanked fans for their “loyalty” in “not listening” to the unfinished music.


    Update — 2:15pm ET: In a second Instagram post, Madonna added, “This is artistic rape!! These are early leaked demo’s half of which wont even make it on my album the other half have changed and evolved. This is a form of terrorism. Wtf!!!! Why do people want to destroy artistic process??? Why steal? Why not give me the opportunity to finish and give you my very best?”

    For the follow-up to 2012’s MDNA, Madonna has reportedly been working with everyone from Avicii and Diplo to Blood Diamonds and Ariel Pink.

    Leaked album’s tracklist:
    01. Unapologetic Bitch
    02. Bitch I’m Madonna
    03. Addicted (The One That Got Away)
    04. Borrowed Time
    05. Heartbreak City
    06. Illuminati
    07. Joan Of Arc
    08. Living 4 Love (Carry On)
    09. Make The Devil Pray
    10. Messiah
    11. Rebel Heart
    12. Revolution
    13. Wash All Over Me