Brian Wilson announces No Pier Pressure, his star-studded new solo album

Brian Wilson - new solo album

    On April 7th, Brian Wilson returns with his latest solo album No Pier Pressure. The singer’s 11th LP to date, and first since 2011’s In the Key of Disney, sees him reuniting with Capitol Records, the original home of The Beach Boys.

    According to a press release, No Pier Pressure was initially conceived with The Beach Boys in mind, but “wanting to find the right voices to complete his vision, Wilson saw an opportunity to finally become hip with his kids and recruited some amazing young vocalists who have been inspired by his music.” (Ed. Note: It probably didn’t help that Wilson and Mike Love had a public fallout in 2013.)

    (Read: The 10 Least Fun (Fun, Fun) Beach Boys Songs)

    Among those “right voices” are She & Him’s Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward, Kacey Musgraves, Capital Cities’ Sebu Simonian, fun.’s Nate Ruess, and former Beach Boys bandmates Al Jardine, David Marks, and Blondie Chaplin. Veteran musicians Don Was, Jim Keltner, Kenny Aronoff, and Dean Parks appear as session players. Despite earlier (and frankly, not well-received) reports, Frank Ocean and Lana Del Rey are not listed among the contributors.


    No Pier Pressure will be available in standard 13-track and deluxe 16-track editions (digitally and on CD), as well as a 16-track double LP version on 180-gram vinyl.

    No Pier Pressure Tracklist [CD/Digital]:
    01. This Beautiful Day
    02. Runaway Dancer (feat. Sebu Simonian)
    03. What Ever Happened (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
    04. On The Island (feat. She & Him)
    05. Our Special Love (feat. Peter Hollens)
    06. The Right Time (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
    07. Guess You Had To Be There (feat. Kacey Musgraves)
    08. Don’t Worry *
    09. Somewhere Quiet *
    10. I’m Feeling Sad *
    11. Tell Me Why (feat. Al Jardine)
    12. Sail Away (feat. Blondie Chaplin and Al Jardine)
    13. One Kind Of Love
    14. Saturday Night (feat. Nate Ruess)
    15. The Last Song
    16. Half Moon Bay

    * = w/ deluxe edition

    No Pier Pressure Tracklist: [2LP 180g vinyl]:

    Side A
    01. This Beautiful Day
    02. Runaway Dancer (feat. Sebu Simonian)
    03. What Ever Happened (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
    04. On The Island (feat. She & Him)


    Side B
    01. Our Special Love (feat. Peter Hollens)
    02. The Right Time (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
    03. Guess You Had To Be There (feat. Kacey Musgraves)
    04. Tell Me Why (feat. Al Jardine)

    Side C
    01. Sail Away (feat. Blondie Chaplin and Al Jardine)
    02. One Kind Of Love
    03. Saturday Night (feat. Nate Ruess)
    04. The Last Song

    Side D
    01. Half Moon Bay
    02. Don’t Worry
    03. I’m Feeling Sad
    04. Somewhere Quiet

Personalized Stories

Around The Web