Desaparecidos to release first new album 13 years


Reunited punk outfit Desaparecidos, led by Conor Oberst, have announced plans to release their first album in 13 years. The follow-up to 2002’s Read Music/Speak Spanish is due to arrive this year through new label home Epitaph Records. The group revealed the news via Instagram this afternoon, saying, “We are honored to officially be on @epitaphrecords. So many great things to come in 2015.”

Desaparecidos formed in Omaha, Nebraska back in 2001, but called it quits shortly after the release of Read Music/Speak Spanish. In 2013, the band officially reunited with new tour dates and a handful of recordings, including “The Left is Right”, “Anonymous”, “Te Amo Camila Vallejo”, and “The Underground Man”. According to a press release, the new album will feature original Desaparecidos members Oberst (vocals, guitar), Landon Hedges (bass, guitar), Matt Baum (drums), Denver Dalley (guitar) and Ian McElroy (keyboard).

In addition to the album/label news, the band has lined up a few US tour dates, including festival appearances at Coachella (and its corresponding “Localchella” sideshows) and Forecastle.

Desparacidos 2015 Tour Dates:
04/08 – Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
04/10 – Manga, UT @ The Great Sinclair
04/12 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
04/13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy
04/15 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Shrine
04/16 – San Francisco, CA @ The Regency Ballroom
04/19 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
07/17-19 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival

Listen to “The Left is Right”.