Lady Lazarus premieres new song “Miracles” — listen


    Melissa Ann Sweat, aka Lady Lazarus, began recording material for her third LP over a year ago, back in January 2014. Finally, the minimalist folk artist is ready to let her music out into the world, as Miracles is set for a March 3rd release through Queen’s Ransom. As a first peek at the follow-up to 2013’s All My Love in Half Light, she’s released the album’s title track.

    Much of Lady Lazarus’ past material has focused squarely on lo-fi key work, but she’s expanded her sound on Miracles by adding synths, strings, horns, and even orchestral percussion provided by Gary Mallaber (Van Morrison, Bruce Springsteen). This newfound musicality can be heard right from the title track. Here, slow drawn strings help elevate the repetitious piano chords — a tactic she told our own Philip Cosores is called “vamping.” A gentle ballad with a of pop sensibility that’s relatively fresh to her work, “Miracles” sees Sweat reflecting on how she’s managed to reorient herself after past hardships. “I believe in miracles/ I know because I live it/ Was once ashamed/ But now I’m not afraid to show it.” Take a listen below.

    In addition to the new track, Lady Lazarus has revealed the Miracles album art (above) and tracklist (below).


    Miracles Tracklist:
    01. Miracles
    02. Train Song
    03. Lonely Daughter
    04. All Good Things
    05. Little Steps
    06. Spirit Away
    07. Anna
    08. Wildflowers
    09. Resolve

Personalized Stories

Around The Web