Simon Joyner announces new album, Grass, Branch & Bone, shares “You Got Under My Skin” — listen


    Simon Joyner is a Nebraskan singer-songwriter perhaps best known for his vast and critically accalimed discography, one that’s been a direct inspiration to Conor Oberst and other major Americana figures. On March 17th, he will release Grass, Branch & Bone, his 13th proper full-length and the follow-up to 2012’s Ghost. Where that previous album was unrelentingly dark and cacophonous, the forthcoming effort promises to be much more meditative and pastoral.

    Take its first single, “You Got Under My Skin”. Featuring a slow-rolling melody and gentle fingerpicking, the song highlights Joyner’s signature, plainspoken storytelling and earthy charm with lines like, “Make like a tree and lay down some roots.” It’s a delicate and wistful package of low-key folk. Listen in below.


    Grass, Branch & Bone Tracklist:
    01. Sonny
    02. Train to Crazy Horse
    03. You Got Under My Skin
    04. Jefferson Reed
    05. Some Fathers Let The Sunset Bring Them To Their Knees
    06. Old Days
    07. I Will Not Be Your Fool (The Muse’s Song)
    08. In My Drinking Dream
    09. Nostalgia Blues

Personalized Stories

Around The Web