Stream: The Decemberists’ new album What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

Decemberists What Terrible World Album Stream

The Decemberists will release their seventh studio album, What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World, on January 20th via Capitol Records. In anticipation, the entire 14-track effort is streaming on iTunes Radio.

What A Terrible World… marks The Decemberists’ seventh album overall and follow-up to 2011’s The King Is Dead. Recording began back in May 2013 as the band reconvened with long-time producer Tucker Martine in their hometown of Portland.

(Ranking: The Decemberists From Worst to Best)

A press release describes the album as the band’s “most varied and dynamic work, both musically and emotionally.” Frontman Colin Meloy says much of the album explores far more personal, introspective topics than previous Decemberists records as “having a family, having kids, having this career, getting older — all of these things have made me look more inward.”

Pre-orders for the album ongoing. Below, watch their new lyric video for “A Beginning Song”.

What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World Tracklist:
01. The Singer Addresses His Audience
02. Cavalry Captain
03. Philomena
04. Make You Better
05. Lake Song
06. Till The Water Is All Long Gone
07. The Wrong Year
08. Carolina Low
09. Better Not Wake The Baby
10. Anti-Summersong
11. Easy Come, Easy Go
12. Mistral
13. 12/17/12
14. A Beginning Song


Latest Stories