Sufjan Stevens announces new album Carrie & Lowell

Sufjan Stevens Carrie and Lowell

    If you’re wondering what Sufjan Stevens has been up to, here’s your answer: The acclaimed songwriter and composer will return on March 31st with his first new album in five years, Carrie & Lowell.

    Spanning 12 tracks, the album will see Stevens returning to his “folk roots,” according to a press release. The title is named after his mother and stepfather and, as such, themes include “life and death, love and loss, and the artist’s struggle to make sense of the beauty and ugliness of love.”

    Check out the album’s trailer and tracklist below.

    Carrie & Lowell Tracklist:
    01. Death With Dignity
    02. Should Have Known Better
    03. All of Me Wants All of You
    04. Drawn to the Blood
    05. Fourth of July
    06. The Only Thing
    07. Carrie & Lowell
    08. Eugene
    09. John My Beloved
    10. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
    11. Blue Bucket of Gold


    In related news, Stevens has contributed original music to a new documentary about the Pendleton Round-Up, an annual rodeo that takes place in Pendleton, Oregon. The film will screen at the Brooklyn Academy of Music from January 20th-25th and Stevens will be on hand to provide the live score. Watch a trailer for that project below.

Personalized Stories

Around The Web