The Avett Brothers’ Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield announce Elliott Smith tribute album


    Seth Avett of The Avett Brothers and Jessica Lea Mayfield will pay tribute to Elliot Smith with a new tribute albumSeth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith will feature the indie folk pair covering 12 of Smith’s classics, including “Between the Bars”, “Angeles”, and “Baby Britain”.

    Due March 17th from Ramseur, the album was recorded sporadically over the last three years in both the artists’ own homes and Asheville, NC’s Echo Mountain Studios. “A lot of effort had to be put in to make it happen just because we’re real busy,” Avett explained. “I think it speaks towards the importance of the project to both of us that we made the time to get it done.”

    A tour behind the record is being planned for later this year. Below, check out the a promo video, which features samples of the duo’s takes on “Let’s Get Lost” and “Roman Candle”. The album’s complete tracklist follows.


    Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith Tracklist:
    01. Between the Bars
    02. Baby Britain
    03. Fond Farewell
    04. Somebody That I Used to Know
    05. Let’s Get Lost
    06. Twilight
    07. Ballad of Big Nothing
    08. Angel in the Snow
    09. Pitseleh
    10. Angeles
    11. Roman Candle
    12. Memory Lane

Around The Web