Death announces first album in 40 years, shares “Look At Your Life” — listen

Death - new album - N. E. W.

    Seminal proto-punk rock outfit Death has announced plans to release its first album since the mid-1970s. Entitled N.E.W., it’s available April 21st via the band’s own TryAngle Records.

    According to a press release, N.E.W. mixes songs written over 30 years ago by late frontman David Hackney and recent compositions from Death’s current lineup — Bobby Hackney, Dannis Hackney, and Bobbie Duncan. The release adds that N.E.W. remains true to Death’s “straight ahead rock ‘n’ roll via Detroit of the ’70s” but is also a return of sorts for the Hackney brothers: “For many years, Bobby and Dannis played different styles of music, but with the same deep spiritual investment. Bringing that spirit back to Death, their ability to make new songs in the same vein is fantastic.”

    (Read: Rough Francis Step Out of (A Band Called) Death’s Shadow)


    The band’s only other full-length LP, …For the Whole World to See, dates back to 1976, but was only unearthed by Drag City in 2009 following the critically acclaimed documentary A Band Called Death. That record has since been followed with two archival collections, 2011’s Spiritual, Mental, Physical and last year’s Death III.

    Today’s announcement is accompanied by lead single “Look At Your Life”. Here, Death encapsulates its signature sound in under five minutes, pairing the blitz of Stooges-esque punk with the brashness of British metal and the steady grooves of early funk. Listen in below.


    N.E.W. Tracklist: 
    01. At the Station
    02. Change
    03. Look At Your Life
    04. Playtime
    05. Relief
    06. Resurrection
    07. Story of the World
    08. The Times
    09. Who Am I
    10. You Are What You

Personalized Stories

Around The Web