Stream: Carl Barât and the Jackals’ debut album Let It Reign


    Carl Barât, best known for his work in The Libertines and Dirty Pretty Things, will release his first album with The Jackals, Let It Reign, on February 17th via Cooking Vinyl/Grand Jury Music. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below.

    The 11-track effort follows the release of Barât’s 2010 self-titled debut as well as the announcement of an impending Libertines reunion. Barât originally started work on the album as a solo effort. Eventually he realized he needed some company and enlisted a troupe of musicians with online ads. He says he insisted on working with people he didn’t know to avoid any baggage or jadedness.

    “They’re proper young bloods, they’re so into it, the passion and the lifestyle,” Barât says of the new band in an interview with The Guardian. “That’s why I didn’t get mates in. The drummer has only left England once — he was playing in a wedding band in Swindon!”


    The album is preceded by two singles, “Glory Days” and “A Storm Is Coming”.

    Let It Reign Tracklist:
    01. Glory Days
    02. Victory Gin
    03. Summer In The Trenches
    04. A Storm Is Coming
    05. Beginning To See
    06. March Of The Idle
    07. We Want More
    08. War Of The Roses
    09. The Gears
    10. Let It Rain
    11. The King Is Me (iTunes Bonus Track)