Daughn Gibson announces new album, premieres “Shatter You Through” — listen

Singer-songwriter explores beyond his country music roots


    Singer-songwriter Daughn Gibson will release his third studio album, Carnation, on June 2nd through Sub Pop. The follow-up to 2013’s Me Moan was co-produced by Randall Dunn (Earth, Sunn O))), Tim Hecker) and recorded at Avast Studios in Seattle, Washington.

    A press release describes the 11-track effort as “a high-wire balancing act, at times sexual, emotionally intense and comforting” whose lyrical content “shares a kinship with writers Raymond Carver and Donald Ray Pollack.” Meanwhile, the music itself sees Gibson exploring beyond his country music roots, its “filmic” quality paying homage to directors Tim Burton and John Waters.

    As a preview, Gibson’s shared a new single called “Shatter You Through”. Quite possibly his catchiest work to date, the titillating track is marked by groovy bass, twangy guitar, and Gibson’s rich baritone. Think Elvis kickin’ it on an ’80s dance floor with Twin Shadow. Listen in below.


    Carnation Artwork:

    Daughn Gibson - Carnation new album

    Carnation Tracklist:
    01. Bled to Death
    02. Heaven You Better Come In
    03. Shatter You Through
    04. For Every Bite
    05. Daddy I Cut My Hair
    06. A Rope Ain’t Enough
    07. I Let Him Deal
    08. Shine of the Night
    09. Runaway and the Pyro
    10. It Wants Everything
    11. Back With the Family


Personalized Stories

Around The Web