Members of The National and Menomena form Pfarmers, premiere “The Ol’ River Gang” — listen

Supergroup to release its debut album in May


    Pfarmers is a new band comprised of The National’s Bryan Devendorf, Menomena’s Danny Seim, and Dave Nelson, a horn player who’s collaborated with the likes of St. Vincent, Sufjan Stevens, and Beirut. Together, the three-piece is gearing up to release its debut album, Gunnera, on May 12th through Jurassic Pop.

    Seim spoke about the inspiration for the LP:

    The record is about a dream I had where I’m reluctantly accepting a fear of drowning by focusing on being reincarnated as a giant Gunnera plant, which thrive on the banks of rivers (specifically the Jordan River i.e. the Biblical promised land) after I paint myself gold and sink to the bottom like the El Dorado of South American folklore.

    In anticipation, Pfarmers has let loose “The Ol’ River Gang”. Chaotic and synth-happy, the track seems to draw more from Menomena’s experimental rock stylings than The National’s melancholic anthems. Listen in below.


    Sticking to the South American folklore theme, Pfarmers are offering an “ultra limited collector’s edition” of the album; limited to just 50 copies, it will come with handmade seed bomb sculptures inspired by El Dorado folk art.

    Gunnera Tracklist:
    01. Benthos
    02. You Shall Know the Spirit
    03. Work for Me
    04. El Dorado
    05. The Ol’ River Gang
    06. How to Build a Tube
    07. Promised Land


Personalized Stories

Around The Web