Metallica unearths 1982 demo tape No Life ’til Leather for first-ever commercial release

The seven-track collection is being put out on cassette for Record Store Day

Metallica demo

    While many bands typically put out leftover B-sides and rarities for Record Store Day (April 18th), Metallica is really digging through its archives for the annual vinyl event: The metal rockers will release their 1982 demo tape, No Life ’til Leather, as a limited edition cassette.

    Recorded nearly 33 years ago in Tustin, California, the newly remastered collection features the original Metallica lineup of James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Dave Mustaine, and Ron McGovney. According to a press release, the seven-track effort has never been available commercially until now. Expanded CD and vinyl versions are expected this summer.

    No Life ’til Leather will be available through the band’s website and all participating Record Store Day locations.


    Read Metallica’s accompanying note about the unique release:

    This year we decided to celebrate Record Store Day with our friends at independent retail by taking a huge leap back in time to our humble beginnings with that little rectangle of plastic known as the “demo tape.” In 1982 we recorded seven songs that became our initial calling card known as No Life ’til Leather and it led us to our first record deal . . . the rest, as you some of you may know, is history! We hope you enjoy this little walk down memory lane with us and that you will continue to join us in supporting independent record stores around the world.

    No Life ’til Leather cover:

    No Life Til Leather - RSD cassette

    No Life ’til Leather Tracklist:
    01. Hit The Lights
    02. The Mechanix
    03. Motorbreath
    04. Seek & Destroy
    05. Metal Militia
    06. Jump In The Fire
    07. Phantom Lord