Stream: Death Cab For Cutie’s new album Kintsugi

Seattle indie rockers share final release with guitarist/producer Chris Walla.


    Death Cab For Cutie will release their new album Kintsugi on March 31st through Atlantic Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full via

    The 11-track effort follows 2011’s Codes and Keys and marks the last album with longtime member Chris Walla, who quit the band last summer. It’s also the first Death Cab album not to be produced by Walla, as the band instead enlisted Rich Costey (Jane’s Addiction, Mew). The album title is a reference to the Japanese ceramic art of the same name, in which broken pottery is reforged with gold. “It’s making the repair of an object a visual part of its history,” bassist Nick Harmer said of the title, alluding to Walla’s departure.

    “This is an opportunity for the band to become something it could only become by losing a founding member,” frontman Ben Gibbard said in a press statement. “It’s our goal to make records that rank amongst the best work we’ve ever done. I completely respect and understand why people love Transatlanticism or We Have the Facts… or Narrow Stairs. And I would hope that as we move forward, people listen with as little prejudice as they can and try to hear the music for what it is and not what they want it to be.”


    Pre-orders are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Black Sun”.

    Kintsugi Tracklist:
    01. No Room in Frame
    02. Black Sun
    03. The Ghosts of Beverly Drive
    04. Little Wanderer
    05. You’ve Haunted Me All My Life
    06. Hold No Guns
    07. Everything’s a Ceiling
    08. Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)
    09. El Dorado
    10. Ingénue
    11. Binary Sea


Personalized Stories

Around The Web