Stream: Gov’t Mule’s live album Dub Side Of The Mule featuring Toots Hibbert

Jam band continues archival series with a 2006 set that includes a Radiohead cover

Pink Floyd Reggae Tribute

Legendary jam band Gov’t Mule will release their latest live album, Dub Side of The Mule, on April 7th through Evil Teen Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below.

The 12-track album continues the band’s extensive live archival project begun with last year’s Pink Floyd tribute, Dark Side Of The Mule, and the instrumental jazz odyssey Sco-Mule, released earlier this year. Dub Side captures a 2006 New Year’s Eve concert at New York’s Beacon Theatre. Amidst the three hour long set, Gov’t Mule took an hour to perform an all-reggae set with Jamaican icon Toots Hibbert (Toots & The Maytals) as a special guest.

Together, they covered Hibbert’s classic dub material like “Pressure Drop”, “54-46 Was My Number”, and even his take on Radiohead’s “Let Down”. They also delivered one of the earliest live performances of their joint rendition of Otis Redding’s “Hard To Handle”, released on Mile High a year later. Listen to the whole thing below.

The rest of Gov’t Mule’s set boasted appearances from frontman Warren Haynes’ former Allman Brothers Band bandmate Greg Allman as well as Blues Traveler’s John Popper. Dub will be released with several different iterations: a 12-track standard CD version, a double 180-gram vinyl edition, and a three-disc deluxe CD edition that features the entire three hour performance as well as a DVD recording of the show.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Dub Side Of The Mule Tracklist:
01. I’m A Ram
02. 54-46 Was My Number
03. Hard To Handle
04. True Love Is Hard To Find
05. Pressure Drop
06. Let Down
07. I’ve Got Dreams To Remember
08. Reggae Got Soul
09. Hard Road
10. Happy New Year
11. Turn On Your Love Light
12. Reggae Soulshine