Stream: Modest Mouse’s new album Strangers to Ourselves

Isaac Brock and co. return with their first new music in eight years

"The Ground Walks, With Time in a Box"

This week, Modest Mouse returns with their first album in eight years, Strangers to Ourselves. Spotify users can stream the album in full below.

The 15-track effort serves as the follow-up to 2007’s We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank. Frontman Isaac Brock recorded the album in his Portland, Oregon studio, enlisting the assistance of James Mercer (The Shins), Jim Fairchild (Grandaddy), Dann Gallucci (Cold War Kids), and Russell Higbee (formerly of Man Man) in addition to the band’s usual core members.

(Read: Modest Mouse in 10 Songs)

Brock spoke the album’s lengthy recording process in an interview with The Wall Street Journal. “Honest answer to whether I thought it would take eight years to make another Modest Mouse record? No. People in the band are having kids left and right. I scored two movies which I didn’t do overnight. I had other interests. I wanted to learn about mycelium. I spent a lot of time reading books and going out into the woods to learn about mushrooms.”

Fortunately, fans won’t have have to wait nearly as long for the band’s next studio album. “I’m pretty far along with the next one as it is. I went in to making this one with two records in mind,” Brock explained to hmv. “It’ll be released as quickly as it’s legally allowed to be. It’s a partner to [Strangers to Ourselves].”

Strangers to Ourselves Tracklist:
01. Strangers to Ourselves
02. Lampshades on Fire
03. Shit in Your Cut
04. Pistol (A. Cunanan, Miami, FL. 1996)
05. Ansel
06. The Ground Walks, with Time in a Box
07. Coyotes
08. Pups to Dust
09. Sugar Boats
10. Wicked Campaign
11. Be Brave
12. God is an Indian and You’re an Asshole
13. The Tortoise and the Tourist
14. The Best Room
15. Of Course We Know