Stream: Tobias Jesso Jr.’s debut album Goon

Vancouver songwriter teams up with Girls' Chet "JR" White, The Black Keys' Patrick Carney, and Ariel Rechtshaid


Vancouver singer-songwriter Tobias Jesso Jr. will release his debut album, Goon, on March 17th via True Panther. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full via iTunes Radio.

The 12-track effort was recorded between San Francisco, Vancouver, and Nashville. Following the breakup of Girls, Jesso sent the band’s guitarist Chet “JR” White a demo tape. White quickly invited him down to San Francisco to work together in the studio. From there he was invited to record with the likes of Patrick Carney of The Black Keys and Ariel Rechtshaid, who also co-produced the album.

(Read: Tobias Jesso Jr.: Sing For Yourself)

“For me, it’s all about the song,” Jesso said of his songwriting method in an interview for our recent cover story. “It’s not about me singing. It’s not about me playing piano. I could care less about that stuff. It’s just about having a song and it living in whatever form it needs, and if somebody has a wonderful voice, then I could play with the range and stuff like that.”

The album is preceded by three singles, “How Could You Babe”, “Hollywood”, and “Without You”.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Goon Tracklist:
01. Can’t Stop Thinking About You
02. How Could You Babe?
03. Without You
04. Can We Still Be Friends?
05. The Wait
06. Hollywood
07. For You
08. Crocodile Tears
09. Bad Words
10. Just A Dream
11. Leaving LA
12. Tell The Truth

Latest Stories