Sufjan Stevens premieres new song “Carrie & Lowell” — listen

The gorgeous title track from Stevens' first new album in five years


    Later this month, Sufjan Stevens returns with Carrie & Lowell, his first studio album in five years. Already he’s previewed the LP with the pensive “Should Have Known Better” and fantastical “No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross”. Now, Stevens has let loose the title track.

    Premiered on Mary Anne Hobbs’ BBC Radio 6 program, it’s a gorgeous number highlighted by Stevens’ whispered croon and mysterious musings on light and shadows, meadlowlarks, and the ancient lords of water. A short snippet of the song previously appeared in the album’s trailer; the full version clocks in at a little over three minutes. Listen to “Carrie & Lowell” over at BBC Radio 6 (scroll to the 33:00 mark).

    Carrie & Lowell the LP is due out on March 31st via Asthmatic Kitty. In support, Stevens will hit the road for a North American tour next month; see those dates here.


    Carrie & Lowell Tracklist: 
    01. Death With Dignity
    02. Should Have Known Better
    03. All of Me Wants All of You
    04. Drawn to the Blood
    05. Fourth of July
    06. The Only Thing
    07. Carrie & Lowell
    08. Eugene
    09. John My Beloved
    10. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
    11. Blue Bucket of Gold

Personalized Stories