Chelsea Wolfe announces new album, Abyss, premieres “Iron Moon” — listen

California neo-folk songwriter returns this summer with her fourth LP


    Chelsea Wolfe returns with a new album, Abyss, on August 7th via Sargent House. The 11-track effort follows Pain is Beauty, one of 2013’s best albums of the year, and was recorded with producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Swans) in Dallas, Texas. That’s the artwork above.

    According to a press release, the LP plays out like a “score” to a realm Wolfe describes as “the hazy afterlife … an inverted thunderstorm … the dark backward … the abyss of time,” and explores heady subjects of “human frailty, intimacy, quiet passion, anxiety, and deep longing.”

    The experimental rocker added, “Abyss is meant to have the feeling of when you’re dreaming, and you briefly wake up, but then fall back asleep into the same dream, diving quickly into your own subconscious.”


    As a preview, Wolfe’s let loose “Iron Moon”, quite possibly one of the loudest, most torrid numbers in her repertoire. With vocals ablaze and baying, and harsh, devilish riffs raining down all around her, Wolfe sounds like a true goddess of the afterlife. Listen in below (via Rolling Stone).

    Abyss Tracklist:
    01. Carrion Flowers
    02. Iron Moon
    03. Dragged Out
    04. Maw
    05. Grey Days
    06. After the Fall
    07. Crazy Love
    08. Simple Death
    09. Survive
    10. Color of Blood
    11. The Abyss


    Watch an album trailer for Abyss:

Personalized Stories

Around The Web