Holy Ghost! announces remix album, premieres rework of Hanni El Khatib’s “Two Brothers” — listen

The 20-track effort also features remixes of LCD Soundsystem, MGMT, Phoenix, and more


    Since forming back in 2007, Holy Ghost! has churned out an impressive number of remixes. Some of those include club-friendly renditions of Phoenix’s “Lisztomania”, LCD Soundsystem’s “Drunk Girls”, and Cut Copy’s “Hearts on Fire”. Now, the New York synthpop duo has compiled a handful of those older reworks, as well as a few unreleased ones, for a new remix album called Work For Hire, due out on May 5th.

    “Letting our remixes go has always been kind of hard,” band member Alex Frankel said of the whopping 20-track effort. “We labor over them for weeks, often reproducing every element of the song from drums to vocals, and really try to give them as much life and love as we would an original song.”

    He added, “To see them all here, done over so many years but now in one comprehensive collection, side by side, is amazing. It’s also kind of like looking at our own musical timeline. You can hear us developing as producers, having fun, experimenting, and — above all else — working. This album is a scrapbook of our work and time together.”


    In anticipation, Holy Ghost! has unveiled one of three all-new entries on Work For Hire, a groovy, late-night reworking of Hanni El Khatib’s “Two Brothers”. Listen in below.

    Work For Hire Tracklist
    01. Panthers – Goblin City (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2007)
    02. Cut Copy – Hearts on Fire (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2007)
    03. MGMT – Of Moons, Birds, and Monsters (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
    04. In Flagranti – Business Acumen (Holy Ghost! Cover Version) (2008)
    05. Moby – I Like to Move in Here (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
    06. Only Fools and Horses – Spectable Wins (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
    07. They Came from the Stars I Saw Them – Moon Song (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
    08. Phoenix – Lisztomania (Holy Ghost! Loves Paris Remix) (2009)
    09. Curses – The Deep End (Holy Ghost! Day School Dub) (2009)
    10. LCD Soundsystem – Drunk Girls (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2010)
    11. Black Van – Moments of Excellence (Holy Ghost! Version) (2011)
    12. Midnight Magic – Drop Me a Line (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2011)
    13. Moby – Blue Moon (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2011)
    14. Monarchy – Love Get Out of My Way (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2011)
    15. DataRock – The Pretender (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2012)
    16. RAC – Let Go (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2013)
    17. Blood Orange – You’re Not Good Enough (Holy Ghost! Bootleg) (2013)
    18. Katy Perry – Unconditionally (Holy Ghost! Balearic Dub) (2013) *
    19. Hanni El Khatib – Two Brothers (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2015) *
    20. Jose Gonzales – Let it Carry You (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2015) *


    ** = never released

    In support, the duo’s lined up a string of US tour dates, including some alongside Empire of the Sun.

    Holy Ghost! 2015 Tour Dates:
    05/07 – Brooklyn, NY @ Verboten ^
    05/08 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Dolphin ^
    05/09 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall ^
    05/15 – Dallas, TX @ It’ll Do Club ^
    05/16 – Austin, TX @ Kingdom ^
    09/12 – Denver, CO @ Fillmore $
    09/15 – Redmond, WA @ Marymoor Park $
    09/16 – Vancouver, BC @ The Orpheum $
    09/18 – Troutdale, OR @ Edgefield $
    09/19 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Center $

    ^ = all-vinyl DJ sets
    $ = w/ Empire of the Sun

Personalized Stories

Around The Web