Stream: Colin Stetson and Sarah Neufeld’s new album Never Were The Way She Was

Arcade Fire affiliates collaborate on new instrumental record


    Arcade Fire affiliates Colin Stetson and Sarah Neufeld will release their latest collaborative album, Never were the way she was, on April 28th through Constellation Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below.

    The eight-track album was written while the duo was on the road with Arcade Fire 2014. They’d later record in a farmhouse attic in Vermont with producer Hans Bernard (Leif Vollebekk, THOMAS). Stetson and Neufeld avoided any overdubbing, looping, sampling, cutting, or pasting throughout the recording process, performing all of the parts live in the studio.

    According to a press release, the album “is guided by the metaphorical narrative of the life of a girl who ages slow as mountains; excited, exalted, and ultimately exiled in her search for a world that resembles her experience.” The statement adds, “The album’s expansive sonic trajectory and multiplicity of structures and voicings belies the fundamental economy of two acoustic instruments combining in real time. The result is a musical chronicle that powerfully establishes its own spatial and temporal horizon, a soundtrack that requires no images but profoundly compels the imaginative.”


    Pre-orders are ongoing.

    Never were the way she was Tracklist:
    01. The sun roars into view
    02. Won’t be a thing to become
    03. In the vespers
    04. And still they move
    05. With the dark hug of time
    06. The rest of us
    07. Never were the way she was
    08. Flight

Personalized Stories

Around The Web