Stream: Violent Femmes’ Happy New Year EP

Alt rockers celebrate Record Store Day with their first release in 15 years


    While most artists unearth old B-sides and demos for Record Store Day, Violent Femmes have quite the special treat for their fans: the band’s first collection of new songs in 15 years.

    The Happy New Year EP features four new tracks and serves as the follow-up to 2000’s Freak Magnet. Violent Femmes, who reunited in 2013 after a brief split, recorded the record in Hobart, Tasmania this past New Year’s Eve following a show at the Sydney Opera House.

    The alt rockers previously teased the release with “Love Love Love Love Love” back in March; now, the EP has surfaced in its entirety. Stream it below via YouTube.


    Happy New Year EP Tracklist:
    01. Happy New Year Next Year
    02. Love Love Love Love Love
    03. Good At/For Nothing
    04. Fast Horses

    The band will reportedly be hitting the studio to record more music this spring. They’ll also be hitting the road for an extensive US tour alongside Barenaked Ladies.

Personalized Stories

Around The Web