Guitar Hero Live reveals initial, indie-friendly tracklist

Including songs from The War on Drugs, Alt-J, Rage Against the Machine, System of a Down, and more

Guitar Hero Live

    A new version of Guitar Hero entitled Guitar Hero Live will arrive later this year on Xbox One and 360, Playstation 3 and 4, Nintendo Wii U, and mobile platforms. In anticipation, game developers Activision and FreeStyleGames have unveiled the initial list of playable songs.

    The tracklist features several notable indie selections including The War on Drugs’ “Under the Pressure”, Alt-J’s “Left Hand Free”, and Sleigh Bells’ “Bitter Rivals”, as well as massive rock hits like Rage Against the Machine’s “Guerrilla Radio”, System of a Down’s “Chop Suey!”, and The Black Keys’ “Gold on the Ceiling”.

    Also featured are songs by The Rolling Stones, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Killers, Pantera, Gary Clark Jr., Broken Bells, and, yes — Skrillex. See the full tracklist below.


    Marking the first installment of the game in five years, the forthcoming edition of Guitar Hero will offer several new features, including a first-person game mode, actual audiences and band members, a playable music video network, and a redesigned guitar controller.

    Guitar Hero Tracklist:
    The Black Keys – “Gold on the Ceiling”
    Blitz Kids – “Sometimes”
    Ed Sheeran – “Sing”
    Fall Out Boy – “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up)”
    Gary Clark, Jr. – “Don’t Owe You a Thang”
    Green Day – “Nuclear Family”
    The Killers – “When You Were Young”
    The Lumineers – “Ho Hey”
    My Chemical Romance – “Na Na Na”
    Pierce the Veil – “King for a Day (feat. Kellin Quinn)”
    The Rolling Stones – “Paint it Black”
    Skrillex – “Bangarang”
    The War on Drugs – “Under the Pressure”
    Black Veil Brides – “In The End”
    Rage Against the Machine – “Guerrilla Radio”
    Judas Priest – “Breaking the Law”
    Pantera – “Cowboys From Hell”
    Sleigh Bells – “Bitter Rivals”
    System of a Down – “Chop Suey!”
    Alter Bridge – “Cry of Achilles”
    Alt-J – “Left Hand Free”
    Broken Bells – “Leave It Alone”
    Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Higher Ground”
    The Pretty Reckless – “Going to Hell”

    Revisit the initial trailer: