Stream: Mumford and Sons’ new album Wilder Mind

Folk rock stars debut their new electric guitar-driven sound

Mumford and Sons new album 2015

    This week, Mumford and Sons will release their new album Wilder Mind through Glassnote Records. It’s also streaming in full below via Spotify.

    The 12-track effort follows up on 2012’s Babel and sees the band foregoing its trademark folk sound in favor of a more electric direction. Although it may be a change for fans, the band clarified that they’re no strangers to electric guitars and even used pedals and plugged-in instruments on Babel.

    “We grew up with Oasis on in the background and Yamaha Pacificas plugged into shitty amps.” frontman Marcus Mumford recently told Consequence of Sound. “We kind of borrowed acoustic instruments and did what we did for a while,” Mumford recalls, laughing as he added that “it all got slightly out of hand.”


    (Read: Mumford & Sons: Electric Minds)

    This is also the band’s first album written and recorded in the studio as opposed to on the road. The band teamed up with producer James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence and the Machine). The National’s Aaron Dessner contributes guitar to some of the tracks.

    Wilder Mind Tracklist:
    01. Tompkins Square Park
    02. Believe
    03. The Wolf
    04. Wilder Mind
    05. Just Smoke
    06. Monster
    07. Snake Eyes
    08. Broad-Shouldered Beasts
    09. Cold Arms
    10. Ditmas
    11. Only Love
    12. Hot Gates
    13. Tompkins Square Park (Live) *
    14. Believe (Live) *
    15. The Wolf (Live) *
    16. Snake Eyes (Live) *

    * = deluxe version

Around The Web