Willis Earl Beal announces new album, shares “Flying So Low” and “Midnight” — listen

Noctunes hits shelves in August


    Last August, Willis Earl Beal released Experiments in Time, an album which he called his “lo-fi symphony.” The soul singer will continue to stick with a minimalist aesthetic for his next LP, Noctunes. The 12-track effort was originally issued as a 300-copy “limited edition” release back in January, but will finally be made available everywhere on August 28th via Tender Loving Empire.

    “People had all these ideas about what I was supposed to be,” Beal said in a statement. “I had only ever wanted to make lullabies. … I wanted to create this persona that could say everything perfectly with very little. The record, to me, is a perfect record. I listen to that thing a lot, and it helps me.”

    (Read: Willis Earl Beal: Everything Unwinds)

    In anticipation of the new album, check out two tracks in “Flying So Low” and “Midnight”. As Beal promised, both are calming, soft-spoken numbers straight from the heart.


    Noctunes Tracklist:
    01. Under You
    02. Flying So Low
    03. Like a Box
    04. Lust
    05. No Solution
    06. Stay
    07. Say the Words
    08. Love Is All Around
    09. Able to Wait
    10. Survive
    11. Start Over
    12. Midnight


Personalized Stories

Around The Web