Glen Hansard announces sophomore solo LP, shares video for “Winning Streak” — watch

Didn't He Ramble is due out this September


    In the midst of celebrating the 25th anniversary of his band The Frames this year, Glen Hansard will release his sophomore solo LP. The Irish folk singer-songwriter has announced a September 18th due date for Didn’t He Ramble, coming via Anti- Records.

    The 10-track effort was recorded across the world in New York, Dublin, Chicago, and France alongside producers Thomas Bartlett (The National, Sufjan Stevens) and Hansard’s Grammy-winning former Frames bandmate David Odlum. Album guests include Iron and Wine’s Sam Beam, Dubliners’ John Sheahan, and Vermont’s own Sam Amidon.

    Press for the album calls it “Hansard’s most intimate and elegant record since his work in Once.” As for Hansard’s own take on things, he said, “I feel I’ve really dug deep for these songs, and I’ve been chasing specific ideas asking myself ‘what is it I’m trying to say with this line or idea?’ One would hope that through all of this that you find your voice. And, amazingly, you might find it in the smallest gesture of a song.”


    As a first listen, Hansard has premiered the video for “Winning Streak”. The song is a gentle acoustic number that continues his penchant for heartening folk tunes. “‘Winning Streak’ is simply a well wish to a friend,” the songwriter told NPR, “to someone who’s been finding it hard to see the goodness in their lives … Each day we’re alive is a day we can reinvent or look at life from a different perspective. Nothing changes until we do, so it’s a song of encouragement to see these things and act on them.” Watch the corresponding video below.

    Pre-orders are going on here, with digital pre-orders available via iTunes.

    Didn’t He Ramble Tracklist:
    01. Grace Beneath the Pines
    02. Wedding Ring
    03. Winning Streak
    04. Her Mercy
    05. McCormack’s Wall
    06. Lowly Deserter
    07. Paying My Way
    08. My Little Ruin
    09. Just to Be the One
    10. Stay the Road