Stream: Sharon Van Etten’s new EP I Don’t Want to Let You Down

Five-track effort features members of The War on Drugs, Ben Folds Five, and Megafaun


    On June 9th, Sharon Van Etten will release a new EP called I Don’t Want to Let You Down through Jagjaguwar. In anticipation, the EP is streaming in full at Also included is a track-by-track commentary from the singer-songwriter herself.

    The EP follows Are We There, Van Etten’s last full-length and one of 2014’s best albums, and features an impressive list of collaborators. Among them: Adam Granduciel and Dave Hartley from The War on DrugsMegafaun’s Brad Cook, and Ben Folds Five’s Darren Jessee. It was co-produced by Stewart Lerman, who also had a hand in helming its predecessor.

    “In only 22 minutes, Van Etten offers documents of surrender and disappointment, admission and longing,” an official statement reads. “The songs are as sophisticated and evolved as anything Van Etten has ever done.”


    I Don’t Want to Let You Down is preceded by the soulful title track and “Just Like Blood”, which can be revisited below.

    Pre-orders are ongoing.

    I Don’t Want to Let You Down EP Tracklist:
    01. I Don’t Want to Let You Down
    02. Just Like Blood
    03. I Always Fall Apart
    04. Pay My Debts
    05. Tell Me (Live)