Dinosaur Jr.’s Lou Barlow announces Brace the Wave, his first solo album in six years

Plus, a short run of US tour dates in September


    On September 4th, Lou Barlow will return with his first solo album in six years. Brace the Wave, due out through Joyful Noise, marks the Dinosaur Jr. bassist’s third to date following 2009’s Goodnight Unknown. That’s the artwork above.

    Spanning nine tracks, the LP was recorded in less than a week’s time in Easthampton, Massachusetts with Justin Pizzoferrato (Pixies, Speedy Ortiz, J Mascis). According to a press release, a number of songs “employ his early methods of tuning his ukelele down low” (“Redeemed”, “Wave”, “Moving”), while others are “traditional-style folk” numbers (“Lazy”, “C & E”).

    Below, watch an album trailer featuring snippets of new music, followed by the full tracklist.


    Brace the Wave Tracklist:
    01. Redeemed
    02. Nerve
    03. Moving
    04. Pulse
    05. Wave
    06. Lazy
    07. Boundaries
    08. C & E
    09. Repeat

    Barlow has lined up a short September tour behind the new LP.

    Lou Barlow 2015 Tour Dates:
    09/08 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
    09/09 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
    09/10 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
    09/11 – Washington, DC @ DC9
    09/22 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
    09/23 – San Luis Obispo, CA @ SLO Brewing Co.
    09/24 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
    09/25 – Pioneertown, CA @ Desert Stars
    09/26 – Costa Mesa, CA @ Wayfarer

Personalized Stories

Around The Web