Earl Burrows announce debut album, No Love for the Drowning, premiere new song “Our Kind” — listen

Former Raconteur and Shins touring member steps out to front his own project

Our Kind

    Mark Watrous has been an unseen force in indie rock for the better part of a decade. He’s performed as a touring member of both The Raconteurs and The Shins, as well as playing guitar for Loudermilk and Gosling. After years working as a utility player, he’s branching out as a frontman with his new band Earl Burrows.

    Teaming up with his brother Joel Watrous and fellow sibling pair Will and Carson Medders, the group has been performing together since 2013. Now, they’re preparing to release their first album, No Love for the Drowning, on September 18th. Produced by fellow Raconteur Brendan Benson, the 10-track effort is now previewed with the band’s latest single “Our Kind”.

    “I wrote ‘Our Kind’ about the isolation my wife and I were feeling after leaving New York,” Watrous tells Consequence of Sound. “It was really difficult finding people we felt connected to in Nashville.”


    The song plays up to Watrous’ rock roots, indulging in big riffs and clamoring piano tones. There’s a grandiose aesthetic to the track, with everything part played with vigor and volume. Though the instrumentation feels bright and energetic, the lyrics carry a bit more weight with sobering lines like “I promise we won’t be missed next time.” It’s a thrilling mixture of rock excess and sentimental candor.

    Listen in below.

    No Love For The Drowning Tracklist
    01. Delicate Ribbon
    02. Akin to the Sloth
    03. Go Home Girl
    04. Our Kind
    05. Hey Me Israel
    06. All Will Bleed
    07. The Glistening Sea
    08. I Live in the Walls
    09. Born To
    10. Infinite Spaces