Hauschka announces A NDO C Y EP, shares “Stromness” remix by Eluvium — listen

German composer preps follow-up to 2014's Abandoned City


    German composer Volker Bertelmann, aka Hauschka, has a story to finish. Last year, he released Abandoned City, a lush EP that sought to tell the tale of forgotten buildings and locales through instrumental music. However, Hauschka only considers that effort to be one side of a grander arc. His full vision will be realized with his latest EP, A NDO C Y, out October 7th via Temporary Residence Ltd.

    Recorded during the same sessions as Abandoned City, the new collection is split into two halves. The first is a five-song suite of new original material, inspired by decaying and dilapidated structures and highlighted by ambient production and electronic leanings. The second half features two rare remixes of tracks from his previous release. As a preview, Hauschka has shared fellow composer Eluvium’s reworking of “Stromness”.

    Eluvium’s eight-minute take on “Stromness” is a lovely departure from the source material. Whereas Hauschka’s original version centered on anxious tones and darting piano notes, Eluvium strips everything back into a fuzz-heavy warmth. There’s a richness to the interpretation, filling every empty space with tremolos and drones. It’s a beautiful reimagining that succeeds in doing what a remix should: giving a proper homage to the original while finding some other loveliness hidden in the composition.


    Listen in below.

    A NDO C Y is available for pre-order now. Find the tracklisting below.

    A NDO C Y Tracklist:
    01. Hashima Island
    02. Palace in the Sky
    03. Varosha
    04. North Brother Island
    05. El Hotel Del Saito
    06. Agdam (Devendra Banhart Remix)
    07. Stromness (Eluvium Remix)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web