Stream: Bodies Be Rivers’ self-titled debut EP

Up-and-coming dream pop outfit shows surprising clarity on its very first release

Without Me

    Brooklyn’s own Bodies Be Rivers will put out their self-titled debut EP next week. The six-track collection was recorded last winter at The Isokon in Woodstock, New York, where production, mixing, and mastering was handled by D. James Goodwin (Devo, Kaki King).

    Though the EP marks their first official release, Bodies Be Rivers approached it with a surprisingly focused and distinct vision, as though they’d done it all before. Like veteran musicians, they felt comfortable in their own skin and “worked hard and joyfully to bring their songs to life,” as the band tells Consequence of Sound. They add, “From isolating loneliness to the moments of clarity in the face of startling change, this record deals with getting to know the distinct quality of one’s inner world and how to best navigate it.”

    Bodies Be Rivers’ “inner worlds” are on full display throughout the collection of songs, from the mercurial textures of the previously released opening number “Without Me” to the steady yet charming stroll of “Room For One” to the pressing twilight of closer “Squint”. Of particular note is vocalist/keyboardist Lauren Smith, whose chameleonic croon seems to accomplish so much so effortlessly.


    Stream the whole EP below.

    Pre-order a copy over at Bandcamp.

    Bodies Be Rivers EP Tracklist:
    01. Without Me
    02. Room For One
    03. Decay
    04. Damages
    05. Lost Day
    06. Squint

Around The Web