Stream: Titus Andronicus’ new album The Most Lamentable Tragedy

Self-described "rock opera" spans a whopping 29 tracks

Titus Andronicus The Most Lamentable Tragedy stream listen

    Titus Andronicus will release its new album, The Most Lamentable Tragedy, on July 28th via Merge Records. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in its entirety below via

    The follow-up to 2012’s Local Business clocks in at 93 minutes and boasts a whopping 29-song tracklist comprised of new compositions alongside covers of Daniel Johnston, The Pogues, and the traditional folk song “Auld Lang Syne”. The self-described “rock opera” was produced by longtime collaborator Kevin McMahon (Diarrhea Planet, Widowspeak) and lead guitarist Adam Reich; Owen Pallett and various members of The So So Glos, Baked, and Lost Boy? appear as special guest collaborators.

    Thematically, the LP plays out like “a work of fiction,” according to a press release:

    The central narrative of TMLT (“a work of fiction,” claims singer/songwriter Patrick Stickles) concerns an unnamed protagonist whom we meet in deep despair. Following an encounter with his own doppelgänger (an enigmatic stranger, identical in appearance though opposite in disposition), long held secrets are revealed, sending our protagonist on a transformative odyssey, through past lives and new loves, to the shocking revelation that the very thing that sustains him may be the thing to destroy him.


    In terms of the music itself, Stickles considers cites both Hüsker Dü’s Zen Arcade and Lou Reed’s Berlin as major influences. “In the aesthetic universe of our rock opera, the downcast songs are more like Zen Arcade, which is, you know, very bare-bones, kind of mean rock production,” he told Grantland. “And the more uplifting, empowered, sort of optimistic, moral, heightened-reality sort of stuff is more ornate and fancy like Berlin.”

    Pre-orders are ongoing.

    The Most Lamentable Tragedy Tracklist:
    01. The Angry Hour
    02. No Future IV: No Future Triumphant
    03. Stranded (On My Own)
    04. Lonely Boy
    05. I Lost My Mind (+@)
    06. Look Alive
    07. The Magic Morning
    08. Lookalike
    09. I Lost My Mind (DJ)
    10. Mr. E. Mann
    11. Fired Up
    12. Dimed Out
    13. More Perfect Union
    14. [Intermission]
    15. Sun Salutation
    16. S(HE) SAID/ S(HE) SAID
    17. Funny Feeling
    18. Fatal Flaw
    19. Please
    20. Come On, Siobhan
    21. A Pair of Brown Eyes
    22. Auld Lang Syne
    23. I’m Going Insane (Finish Him)
    24. The Fall
    25. Into the Void (Filler)
    26. No Future Part V: In Endless Dreaming
    27. [ seven seconds ]
    28. Stable Boy
    29. A Moral


Around The Web